The Beginning

I enjoy waking up every morning to a text that one of my students from the junior high ministry I volunteer with sends me. It always has a random fact or quote. One typical morning at school this semester, as I groaned hearing my alarm go off for my 8am class, I woke to a message that said, “Every moment is a place you’ve never been.” I love it! With my constant state of always wanting to run around and be somewhere new and experience a different place, I had to realize that I experience it everyday, just without knowing it. I needed to change my perspective. Having a basic routine and outline for your day doesn’t have to mean being stuck or restricted by those events and allowing your life to become dull. Yeah, I sat in Spokane all last semester knowing I was going to London in the spring, but that didn’t mean I wasn’t experiencing great things while I was there. I’ve wrapped up my time in Spokane for a while, said a lot of goodbyes, bought a lot of guidebooks, and I am about to have some incredible experiences.

With many travels ahead of me this year (beginning in just a couple short weeks!) I suspect I’ll have many more moments that are enlightening, terrifying, amazing, and overall they will provide me with a greater understanding of our world and the people in it. I’m pumped to see what 2008 holds and a little nervous about this whole blog thing since I’ve never tried it before, but  I’m looking forward to sharing my adventures with you.

I’ve just returned from a couple days of skiing in Jackson Hole, WY (what a ridiculous place!), not to mention a great road trip and many hours in the car with Andrew Ferguson. Next up: London in two weeks, with a week of skiing in France at Meribel before I meet and move in with my host family in London and begin school! There’s a lot of prep to do, but it should be well worth it, and I’ll hopefully feel relaxed, excited and, appropriately, a little nervous once I board my British Airways flight! Bring it on!

One thought on “The Beginning”

  1. Yo Liz! I’m firsties on comments! …word. Good luck traveling, watch out for wild dingos in the hills of france. i hear they steal patagonia purses and the like, wot wot.

Tell Me What You're Thinking!

