Life of a Graduate

I had great ambitions of reviving my blog with some profound thoughts and a brief recap of the last year and a half that I have remained absent from my online postings. However, it’s the night before another big adventure, laundry is in the washing machine, my bag has piles around it but nothing in it, and mostly I just want to sit on the couch for a few more minutes instead of preparing to embark. But let me explain…

After another eventful and beautiful summer in Grand Teton National Park, I’ve returned home to Seattle for an all-to-fast week on Queen Anne. As usual, my list of places to see and visit has only continued to grow despite my wanderings of the last couple years. So my good friend Kayli and I are headed around the country to see all we can. We have plotted our course but allowed for flexibility and given ourselves about a month to make it from Seattle, to the Southwest, to the South and up the East coast as far as possible, ultimately ending our road trip in Missouri where I will stop to spend some time with my grandparents.

During the next month, I hope to write both reports and reflections on our experiences on the road and our adventures at our various stops. I know I had quite a readership by the time I left my semester in London and, though I don’t expect to recapture the interest of everyone, hopefully the blog will once again serve as an entertaining and informative account. I will also be posting pictures on flickr and with my new camera I really have no excuse for not taking and sharing some fantastic photos. Let me apologize for not continuing my blog during my time in Grand Teton both summers. It is not for lack of material, just lack of free time and concentration. However, I’m determined to be better about recording and sharing the events of my nomadic life for the next month and with a fellow English major in the passenger seat there will no doubt be plenty of analysis, conversation, reflection and of course a little reading. Stay tuned.

I’m not sure I truly understand what the life of a graduate entails as I’ve only been out of school four months, but for the first time in seventeen years I’m not spending the autumn months writing papers, completing homework assignments or reading material selected by teachers. This is it: the “real world.” Everyone has talked about it and so far, so good. So off we go!

One thought on “Life of a Graduate”

Tell Me What You're Thinking!

