Trumped by Technology, As Usual

It’s amazing how quickly I forget my own actions and am tricked by the way technology connects every part (arguably too many parts) of my life. Take, for instance, the following scenario:

 10:15 a.m. average Tuesday morning in the gray walls of my cubicle

I receive a forwarded email at work from a co-worker about an event in Portland that I might want to attend. My train of thought goes something like this as I skim the text for the basic info, “Oh cool, what day is that? Huh, I don’t know if I can make it… whatever, I’ll just look at it at home when I’m not distracted.”

I proceed to then forward the email from my Microsoft Outlook work email account to my personal, unprofessional-sounding gmail account (which I will likely open on Google Chrome later in my work day when I lose all sense of self-control and check my personal email at work).

45-60 seconds later…

I glance at my smart phone sitting just beyond the reach of my desk phone and coffee cup to see the blinking green light indicating a new notification of some kind.

“Sweet, someone cares about me, wonder who text or emai… wha…? Why is my name on the… Oh, right. I just emailed myself. Damn.”

I wish I could say this hasn’t happened over a dozen times. But if I did say that, I would be lying.

(Let me just email this blog post to myself now that I’ve written it on my work email account.) It’s a vicious cycle.

4 thoughts on “Trumped by Technology, As Usual”

  1. Hilarious. You may be dynamic and young but the internetz is destroying all our brains. They keep talking about the benefits of crowdsourcing but the only thing being crowdsourced is the collective loss of our individual ability to think clearly without distraction. Keep writing these open confessions of your techie foibles. They are entertaining and, quite sadly, rather condemning.

Tell Me What You're Thinking!

