Joey Turns 100,000

Of all the men in my life, Joey has, without a doubt, been the most faithful and given me the least trouble. And yesterday, he turned 100,000.

Image

Joey has been with me during, arguably, my most formative years. He took me to high school graduation and delivered me home from college for countless holiday visits. He taught me, sometimes unforgivingly, how a clutch really works. He’s stuck with me during snowstorms in Wyoming, humidity in Georgia, and fog on the coast of Maine.

He’s seen me at my worst–crying and snotty-faced while driving away from someone or somewhere I love. And he’s seen me at my best–windows down, hair blowing, shades on, iced-coffee sweating in the cup-holder with Dave Matthews propelling us to the next undiscovered adventure.

He’s accompanied me to my first day of my first real job.

He knows all my favorite songs and happens to think I’m a fine singer.

He tolerates my road-rage and impatience without complaint.

He’s seen a few different boys in the passenger seat, but knows he’s the one taking me home at night.

He’s pooped out on me only once and that’s just because he needed a jump to recharge; he’s never left me stranded.

We all have a few bumps and bruises, and Joey is no different. He has a few love-marks from when I’m at my most dangerous reversing at 2-4mph in a crowded parking lot.

We simply understand each other. For that, and for my father who let me commandeer the 2005 Subaru Impreza that he intended to be his own, I am grateful.

Two loves: Joey and the Tetons

5 thoughts on “Joey Turns 100,000”

  1. First I was impressed–you actually remembered to remember the turnover point, and you even took a photo…..
    AT 68 mph???!!. I guess Joey was watching the road for you.

    1. Ha, I wondered what kind of comments I would get about that, but opted to leave it unacknowledged and post it anyway! Wonder what my father will say?

  2. I am so glad to know that you are learning how long term relationships work and I admire your deep felt commitment. I usually trade ’em in ( pr push ’em off a cliff) when they hit 100k! And see how things have turned out for me! Keep driving and keep loving! Xoxoxo Sarah

Tell Me What You're Thinking!

